PlayFame Jackpots Cost 0.5% of Gold Coin Balance or 100 GC
Sweepstakes casino PlayFame published four help articles on September 29, 2026 describing a new progressive Jackpots feature, and one of them sets the price: every eligible game round takes a contribution of 0.5% of your Gold Coin balance or 100 Gold Coins, whichever is higher, charged on top of your stake. Participation is automatic and the documents name no way to turn it off.
No other jackpot we have documented is priced off the player's balance. The three we have on file charge either a flat amount or an amount the player picks. PlayFame's scales with what you are holding, so the cost of the same spin changes depending on how much you bought.
How much does a PlayFame Jackpots spin actually cost?
The article "How do Jackpots contributions work?" is three sentences and the middle one is the whole story:
When participating in the PlayFame Jackpots, a contribution is made in addition to your regular game spin. For Gold Coins, the Jackpots contribution per game round is 0.5% of your Gold Coin balance or 100 Gold Coins, whichever is higher.
Work the arithmetic and the shape of it appears. The two rules cross at 20,000 Gold Coins, where 0.5% is exactly 100 GC. Below that the 100 GC floor applies and the charge is a bigger share of a smaller balance. Above it the percentage takes over.
| Gold Coin balance | Contribution per eligible round |
|---|---|
| 10,000 GC | 100 GC (the floor, 1% of the balance) |
| 20,000 GC | 100 GC (the crossover, 0.5%) |
| 100,000 GC | 500 GC |
| 1,000,000 GC | 5,000 GC |
| 5,000,000 GC | 25,000 GC |
Those figures are ours, calculated from the 0.5% rule PlayFame publishes. The operator does not print a table.
A player who has just bought a large package and holds 5,000,000 GC pays 25,000 GC per round: same game, same stake, 250 times the jackpot charge a player at the floor pays, because the charge is indexed to the balance rather than to the bet. For scale, use PlayFame's own numbers. Its smallest jackpot tier starts at 10,000 GC, so that player hands over two and a half times the Mini tier's entire starting pot on a single spin.
Do you have to opt in to PlayFame Jackpots?
No, and that is the second thing worth knowing. The article "How do I participate in the PlayFame Jackpots?" says participation "is automatic when you play eligible games on PlayFame with Gold Coins" and that "No separate opt-in is required."
Read alongside the contribution rule, that means a PlayFame player on an eligible Gold Coin game is paying into a prize pool without having agreed to anything specific, and the four articles never say how to stop. We looked for an opt-out line in all four and there is not one.
Which games are eligible is the other thing the documents do not answer. Two of the four articles turn on the phrase "eligible games" and neither defines it: no list, no category, no in-game marker. A player cannot tell before spinning whether a round carries the charge.
This is where PlayFame separates from the three comparable features we hold documents for. All three are opt-in.
| Brand | Contribution per round | Opt-in required | Opt-out published | RTP published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PlayFame | 0.5% of GC balance or 100 GC, higher of the two | No | No | No |
| Spree | 0.10 Spree Coins | Yes | Yes | Yes, 60% |
| Crown Coins | 0.10 SC or 2,000 CC | Yes | Not stated | No |
| Pulsz | Player chooses the amount | Yes | Not stated | No |
Spree's Community Jackpot article is the most complete document any of them publishes: a flat 0.10 Spree Coins per entry, a stated 60% return to player, an explicit line that "You can opt out of the Community JACKPOT at any time" with previous contributions non-refundable, and a named set of eligible games ("All Spree Coin games are included"). We went through Spree's Community Jackpot disclosure and its 60% RTP on September 15. Pulsz lets the player set the contribution size per spin and gates the whole thing behind an "Opt-In" click. We covered Crown Coins' version on September 23, where the deduction is flat and opt-in is a button.
Three rivals is not the whole market, and we are not claiming PlayFame is the only operator doing this. It is the only one of the four whose own documents we have read that charges by balance, does not ask first, and does not say how to stop.
What are the PlayFame Jackpots tiers worth?
Four tiers, with published starting floors and no ceiling. From "What are the PlayFame Jackpots tiers?":
| Tier | Minimum starting amount |
|---|---|
| Mini | 10,000 GC |
| Minor | 200,000 GC |
| Major | 2,000,000 GC |
| Grand | 200,000,000 GC |
The article adds that "There is no maximum win limit for any Jackpots tier." The trigger is random: jackpots "can randomly trigger during a game round, with an animation determining the jackpot tier won." No odds are published for any tier, and no return-to-player figure is given for the feature as a whole.
A pooled prize fund is the less common arrangement in this category to begin with. Our guide to sweepstakes casino jackpot slots found a fixed top prize on nearly every jackpot game it checked and no confirmed cross-casino progressive network anywhere we cover.
Does the PlayFame jackpot pay out in Sweeps Coins?
Not according to anything PlayFame has published. All four articles describe Gold Coins and only Gold Coins: the contribution rule is stated "For Gold Coins", the tier table is headed "Gold Coin Jackpot minimums", and participation is described as automatic when you play "with Gold Coins".
That wording matters, because Gold Coins do not convert to a prize. The phrase "For Gold Coins" implies a second currency is handled somewhere, and if a Sweeps Coins version exists, its contribution rate is not in the help centre. We checked the full PlayFame article inventory on September 29 and found no fifth jackpot article. If you are still working out why that distinction decides whether a feature costs you anything real, the two-currency model is the page to start with.
For now the honest summary is that this is a Gold Coin feature charging Gold Coins, and Gold Coins are bought with money. A balance-indexed deduction hits hardest exactly when a player has just paid for a package, which is the point at which most people are least likely to be counting. For what a coin package buys in the first place, we keep a breakdown of sweepstakes casino bonuses and package sizes.
PlayFame is also alone in its family here. We pulled the full help-centre inventories for McLuck, Hello Millions, SpinBlitz, Mega Bonanza and Jackpota the same day, 248 articles between them, and not one of the five publishes a jackpot article. All six brands are run by B-Two Operations. Whether the feature is exclusive to PlayFame or merely documented there first, the documents do not say.
The Jackpots articles were also not the only thing PlayFame published that morning. Two minutes after the contributions article went up, it rewrote its state-availability article and took California off its blocked-state list. On the plain reading of that document a Californian can buy Gold Coins but gets no sweepstakes entry with them, which is exactly the footing this charge applies to. For brands whose paperwork we have already been through end to end, start with our ranked sweepstakes casinos.
Sources & documents
- PlayFame help centre, "How do Jackpots contributions work?", article 39509037829533, created 2026-09-29T08:58:20Z
- PlayFame help centre, "What are the PlayFame Jackpots tiers?"
- PlayFame help centre, "How do I participate in the PlayFame Jackpots?"
- PlayFame help centre, "How do progressive Jackpots work?"
- Spree help centre, "Community Jackpot"
- Pulsz help centre, "How does the Gold Coin Jackpot and My Stash Promotion work?"
- Help-centre article inventories for McLuck, Hello Millions, SpinBlitz, Mega Bonanza and Jackpota, read September 29, 2026
21+ only. If gambling stops being fun, call 1-800-GAMBLER or read our responsible gaming page.
How we rate the brands involved
Sources & documents
- support.playfame.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/39508990415005.json
- support.playfame.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/39509028132509.json
- support.playfame.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/39509037829533.json
- support.playfame.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/39509044394653.json
- support.playfame.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
- support.spree.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/38948616792850.json
- support.pulsz.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/20867337944465.json
- support.mcluck.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
- support.hellomillions.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
- support.spinblitz.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
- support.megabonanza.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
- support.jackpota.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
Every factual claim in this article maps to one of the sources above - that is the publishing bar, not a goal.
FAQ
Can I turn off the PlayFame Jackpots contribution?
PlayFame's four Jackpots articles do not describe an opt-out. They say participation is automatic on eligible Gold Coin games and that no opt-in is required.
Which PlayFame games carry the Jackpots contribution?
PlayFame says "eligible games" and never defines the term. None of the four articles lists a game, a provider or a category, and none describes a marker in the game itself.
Is the contribution taken out of my spin or added to it?
Added. The article says a contribution "is made in addition to your regular game spin", so the jackpot charge sits on top of whatever you staked.
What are the odds of hitting a PlayFame jackpot?
PlayFame does not publish them. It publishes four tier minimums and says the trigger is random during a game round. No odds and no return-to-player percentage appear in any of the four articles.
Free SC drops, new casinos, and law changes - for your state.
One email a week. No spam, unsubscribe anytime. If your state bans sweeps, you get law updates instead of offers - that's the point.