Spree Casino Community Jackpot: 0.10 SC Per Spin, 60% RTP
Spree Casino deducts 0.10 Sweeps Coins from opted-in players on every spin for its Community Jackpot, and the only place the terms are published is a help-centre article posted on the morning of September 15, 2026. The 60% return that article states appears in neither of Spree's two legal documents, and nor does SPREEPOTZ, the older Spree jackpot that charges the same 0.10 a spin.
Spree Coins are the redeemable currency. Spree's own help centre says so plainly: "Spree offers two coin values: Spree Coins (Sweeps Coins) and Gold Coins (GC)", and only the first are "redeemable for real prizes". So this is not a deduction from play money. It comes out of the balance you cash out with, priced by clause 6.3 of the Sweepstake Rules at $1.00 per qualifying coin.
What is the Spree Community Jackpot?
A single shared pot that drops on a timer and splits two ways.
Spree's help centre created the article at 08:40:32 UTC on September 15, 2026 and stamped its last body edit 37 seconds later, at 08:41:09. The record was touched again at 12:08:49 without that body stamp moving, which is how we know the 60% has stood unchanged since the morning rather than being the figure at the moment we happened to read it.
The article describes "a progressive Spree Coin prize pool that grows as players participate" that "pays out approximately every 24 to 72 hours". When it drops, half goes to one randomly selected eligible player and the other half is "split equally among the rest of the eligible participating community", with the main winner excluded from the community share.
Eligibility is narrow and easy to miss. You have to have "made at least one jackpot contribution (0.10 Spree Coins) during the six-hour period immediately before the jackpot drops". Contribute at 9am, and a jackpot that lands at 4pm pays you nothing. Spree also reserves the right to "occasionally cap the total number of community winners" and pick them at random if the field is bigger than the cap, so the community half is not a guaranteed split among everyone who paid in.
The feature is live in Spree's shipped interface. The page bundle we read this afternoon carries the widget text: "Opt-in to Jackpot", a "new" badge, and the line "0.1 SC will be deducted on every spin." It also carries a different answer on timing. The widget advertises "Daily Jackpots"; the help article published the same day says the pot pays "approximately every 24 to 72 hours", which can be three days.
What we cannot date is the feature itself, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. The last copy of Spree's Sweepstake Rules in the Internet Archive, version 1.8.1 captured on April 30, 2026, carries 120 SPREEPOTZ interface strings and not one Community Jackpot string. The page we read today carries both. The Community Jackpot is therefore an addition made somewhere in the four and a half months since, and not a rename of the older jackpot. Spree has not said when it went live, and no archived copy exists between those two dates to narrow it.
How much does the Spree Community Jackpot cost per spin?
More than it looks, because the contribution is flat.
At 0.10 SC a spin, 1,000 contributing spins hands over 100 Sweeps Coins, exactly the minimum balance clause 6.3 requires before you can claim a cash prize at all. At a stated 60% return, 40 of those 100 coins are not coming back to players. If you play at small stakes the proportional bite is brutal: Spree's own text on the older jackpot is explicit that the charge is taken "regardless of the amount played in the game spin", so a 0.20 SC spin and a 20 SC spin pay the same toll.
Two questions neither document answers, and the second one is the one to ask support.
The first is whether the 0.10 comes out of your stake or sits on top of it. Spree's in-game text for the older jackpot says players "contribute to the jackpot in addition to their in the game spin"; today's help article says only that the deduction "will automatically be taken from each entry you make". The one wording that is explicit says on top. We have not registered an account to watch a balance move, so we are not calling it either way for the new jackpot.
The second decides whether the toll is 0.10 or 0.20. SPREEPOTZ and the Community Jackpot are separate opt-ins with separate controls in the shipped interface, labelled "Opt-out of SC Jackpots" for one and "SC Opt-Out" for the other, and each charges 0.10 Sweeps Coins per spin from the same balance. Nothing Spree publishes says what a player opted into both pays per spin. If you are opted into either, that is the question worth putting to Spree before your next session.
Why does Spree publish two jackpot returns, 70% and 60%?
Because there are two jackpots, and neither of them is in Spree's contract.
This is the part the documents settle plainly. Spree's Sweepstake Rules, version 1.9, "Date of last update: 20 May 2026", run to 128 paragraphs. The words "jackpot", "SPREEPOTZ", "70%" and "60%" appear in none of them. Spree's Terms and Conditions run to 263 paragraphs and contain no SPREEPOTZ, no Community Jackpot, no RTP figure and no mention of a 0.10 contribution. The only jackpot clause in the Terms, 5.2 and 5.3, covers pooled "Social Jackpots" funded by Gold Coin play, and the only exit it offers is to "contact customer support to close your Customer Account". Clause 5.4 then sends sweepstakes promotions back to the Sweepstakes Rules for "their own rules", and the Sweepstakes Rules say nothing. Spree has form for this: the XP thresholds in its loyalty program are published in the help centre and appear in neither legal document either.
So where do the numbers live? In two surfaces that are not the contract. The Community Jackpot's terms are the help article published today. The older jackpot's terms are an interface string, the text of an in-game modal that ships in Spree's site-wide translation payload and reads:
The fixed jackpot contribution per game round is 0.10 Sweepstake Coins, regardless of the amount played in the game spin
That modal breaks the 0.10 down to the fraction of a coin, and the breakdown is the most useful number Spree publishes anywhere. It routes 0.015 each to the current Mini, Minor and Major pots, 0.0075 to the XXL pot, and 0.0175 to seed the next round of all four. Add those and you get 0.07 of the 0.10 charged. The passage then ends: "The effective Sweepstake Coin RTP of the SPREEPOTZ promotion is 70%."
That arithmetic tells you what Spree means by RTP in a jackpot, and it is not what the Sweepstake Rules mean by RTP. Clause 4.3 of the Rules defines RTP as "the theoretical return across a large number of players over an extended period of time", a per-game figure that Spree may change "at any time in Sponsor's sole discretion". The jackpot figure is something else: the share of your contributions paid back out as jackpot prizes. Read the Community Jackpot's 60% the same way and 0.04 of every 0.10 Sweeps Coin is retained rather than 0.03. The new jackpot keeps a third more of each contribution than the old one does, and it is the one with no cap written down.
Spree's two jackpots, side by side:
| SPREEPOTZ | Community Jackpot | |
|---|---|---|
| Where the terms live | In-game modal string | Help-centre article, published September 15, 2026 |
| In the Sweepstake Rules? | No | No |
| In the Terms and Conditions? | No | No |
| Stated return | 70% | 60% |
| Retained per 0.10 SC | 0.03 SC | 0.04 SC |
| Contribution | 0.10 SC per game round | 0.10 SC per entry |
| Structure | Four tiers (5 / 100 / 1,000 / 100,000 SC) | One pot, 50% one winner, 50% shared |
| Drop frequency | Random, any game round | "24 to 72 hours" on the help page, "Daily Jackpots" in the widget |
| Eligibility window | Not stated | Contribution in the prior six hours |
| Prize-specific redemption cap | 50,000 Spree Coins a month | Not stated |
| Opt-out | Yes, contributions non-refundable | Yes, contributions non-refundable |
The gaps in the right-hand column are the point. The older jackpot's text carries its own ceiling, "Players shall not redeem SPREEpotz prizes exceeding a cumulative total of 50,000 SpreeCoins within any single calendar month", and the new jackpot's help page names no equivalent. That does not leave Community Jackpot winnings uncapped, because the Rules apply regardless: clause 6.12 lets Spree limit any entrant to USD$50,000 of redemptions a month at its discretion, and clause 6.11 caps Florida residents at USD$5,000 per play round. It means the promotion-specific ceiling Spree wrote down for one jackpot is unwritten for the other.
Spree's new widget says "See Terms". We followed the equivalent link on the older jackpot, whose modal points at spree.com/terms-conditions. That URL returns Spree's 404 page, byte-for-byte identical to the one a nonsense URL returns. The page it names does not exist.
Do rival sweeps casinos take a cut per spin?
Not in any document we could read today. We read four in full: Fortune Wins Sweeps Rules and its separate Terms and Conditions, and High 5 Casino Sweepstakes Rules and its separate Terms of Use. None describes a jackpot contribution mechanic, none uses the word "contribution" at all, and none puts an RTP number on anything. The only appearances of "jackpot" across the four are Fortune Wins boilerplate about abusing "any Promotion, jackpot, Game or Content", two High 5 navigation links, and a High 5 purchase popup offering a "Premium Jackpot package".
That cuts both ways, and we would rather say so. Publishing a return figure at all is more disclosure than most of this industry manages, and our highest-payout rankings exist because these numbers are usually absent. The problem is not that Spree published 60%. It is where Spree published it.
Should you opt into the Spree Community Jackpot?
Treat the opt-in as a purchase, not a bonus.
If you opt in, you are agreeing to hand over 0.10 redeemable coins per spin at a stated 60% return, and you cannot get it back: "previous contributions are non-refundable and will remain in the prize pool". Three things worth doing before you decide:
- Check which jackpots you are already opted into. SPREEPOTZ and the Community Jackpot are separate switches in the sidebar, and being opted into one tells you nothing about the other.
- Ask support what you pay per spin when both are on. Each is documented at 0.10 Spree Coins, and nothing Spree publishes says whether the total is 0.10 or 0.20.
- Save a copy of the help article. It is the only document that states your terms, and a help article can be edited in a way a versioned rulebook cannot.
Read our guide to cashing out Sweeps Coins before you decide, our explainer on Gold Coins versus Sweeps Coins if you are unsure which balance the deduction touches, and our Spree Casino review for how the brand scores across the rest of our testing.
This is the third time in six weeks that Spree's help centre and Spree's legal documents have told players different things. In August its restricted-state lists disagreed with each other, and yesterday its redemption help page contradicted the 48-hour rule. The pattern is consistent: the product ships, the help centre explains it, and the legal text never catches up. The operators we put at the top of our rankings are the ones whose answers match on the day you need them to.
Sources & documents
- Spree help-centre article "Community Jackpot", the source of the 60% figure, the 0.10 Spree Coin contribution, the six-hour eligibility window, the 24-to-72-hour cadence, the 50/50 split, the winner cap and the non-refundable opt-out
- Spree help-centre article inventory, 66 articles, read September 15, 2026, for the article's creation stamp of 2026-09-15T08:40:32Z, its last body-edit stamp of 08:41:09Z and its record-update stamp of 12:08:49Z
- Spree help-centre article "What's The Difference Between Gold Coins & Sweeps Coins?", for Spree's own statement that Spree Coins are Sweeps Coins and are the redeemable currency
- Spree Sweepstake Rules, version 1.9, "Date of last update: 20 May 2026", read September 15, 2026. We extracted the 128 paragraphs of the rendered document and found no occurrence of "jackpot", "SPREEPOTZ", "70%" or "60%". Source of clause 4.3 on RTP, clause 6.3 on the 100-coin minimum and the $1.00 rate, clause 6.11 on Florida and clause 6.12 on the monthly limit. The SPREEPOTZ and Community Jackpot interface strings quoted above ship in the same page's translation payload, not in the document
- Spree Terms and Conditions, 263 paragraphs, read September 15, 2026, for clauses 5.2 to 5.4 on Gold Coin Social Jackpots and for the absence of SPREEPOTZ, the Community Jackpot, any RTP figure and any 0.10 contribution
- Spree Sweepstake Rules, version 1.8.1, archived April 30, 2026, the most recent capture of that page before today, carrying 120 SPREEPOTZ strings and zero Community Jackpot strings
- Fortune Wins Sweeps Rules and High 5 Casino Sweepstakes Rules, plus each operator's separate terms document, all four read on September 15, 2026, for the absence of any jackpot-contribution mechanic or RTP disclosure
Every quotation above is verbatim from a document we retrieved on September 15, 2026. We found the new article through our own daily fingerprint of Spree's help centre, which is why the timestamps are to the second, and our verification rules set out what that check does and does not prove. We have not registered an account, opted into either jackpot or watched a balance change, and we have no comment from Spree. If Spree adds either jackpot to its Sweepstake Rules we will update this piece.
21+. Play for entertainment, never as income. If gambling stops being fun, call or text 1-800-GAMBLER, or read our responsible gaming resources.
How we rate the brands involved
Sources & documents
- support.spree.com/hc/en-us/articles/38948616792850-Community-Jackpot
- support.spree.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles.json?per_page=100
- support.spree.com/hc/en-us/articles/17908659025554-What-s-The-Difference-Between-Gold-Coins-Sweeps-Coins
- spree.com/sweepstakes-rules
- spree.com/terms-of-service
- web.archive.org/web/20260430195412id_/https://spree.com/sweepstakes-rules
- fortunewins.com/sweeps-rules
- high5casino.com/sweepstakes-rules
Every factual claim in this article maps to one of the sources above - that is the publishing bar, not a goal.
FAQ
What is the RTP of the Spree Community Jackpot?
Spree's help article, published September 15, 2026, states 60%. That figure is single-sourced to that article. It appears in neither Spree's Sweepstake Rules nor its Terms and Conditions, and it is not a game RTP: in Spree's jackpot text it means the share of player contributions paid back out as jackpot prizes.
How much does the Spree Community Jackpot cost per spin?
0.10 Spree Coins per entry on any Spree Coin game, once you opt in. The charge is flat, so it does not scale down with your stake. Spree has not put in writing whether it comes out of your stake or sits on top of it.
What is SPREEPOTZ?
Spree's older jackpot promotion, and a separate opt-in from the Community Jackpot. It runs four tiers at 5, 100, 1,000 and 100,000 Spree Coins, takes a flat 0.10 Spree Coins on every game round "regardless of the amount played in the game spin", and states a 70% return. Its terms are an in-game modal string rather than a clause in Spree's Sweepstake Rules.
Do SPREEPOTZ and the Community Jackpot both charge me?
Nothing Spree publishes answers this. They are separate opt-ins with separate controls, and each is documented at 0.10 Spree Coins per spin from the same redeemable balance. If you are opted into both, ask support what your per-spin total is.
Can I opt out of the Spree Community Jackpot?
Yes, at any time. Spree says previous contributions stay in the prize pool and are non-refundable, and that you stop being eligible for jackpot prizes the moment you opt out.
Do I win a share if I have been playing all day?
Only if one of your contributions landed in the six hours before the jackpot drops. Spree also reserves the right to cap the number of community winners and select them at random above that cap.
Free SC drops, new casinos, and law changes - for your state.
One email a week. No spam, unsubscribe anytime. If your state bans sweeps, you get law updates instead of offers - that's the point.